Nairn, Scotland


Tree: Eby/Aebi and Bernethy Family
Notes: Nairn (Scottish Gaelic: Inbhir Narann) is one of the 22 wards of the Highland council area and one of the 16 ward management areas of the Highland Council of Scotland. Also, there is a Nairn registration county and a Nairn lieutenancy area.

The ward elects four of the council's 80 members by the single transferable vote system of election, which is designed to produce a form of proportional representation. It is on the boundary between the Highland council area and the Moray council area, which lies to the east. Within the Highland area there is the Badenoch and Strathspey ward and the Inverness South ward to the south, and the Culloden and Ardersier ward to the west. To the north, the Nairn ward is bounded by the Moray Firth.[1]

There are also historical senses of Nairn as a local authority area: as a burgh; as a county and; as one of eight districts of the Highland region. The burgh was also the county town. There has been no Nairn local authority area, however, since the district was abolished in 1996, under the Local Government etc (Scotland) Act 1994, and the Highland region became one of the 32 unitary council areas of Scotland. The existing ward was created this year, 2007, under the Local Governance (Scotland) Act 2004, and the ward management area, with the boundaries of the ward, is a component of local authority (Highland Council) management and committee structures which were also introduced this year, 2007.

County/Shire : Latitude: 57.583697, Longitude: -3.875126


Matches 1 to 1 of 1

   Last Name, Given Name(s)    Died    Person ID   Tree 
1 McGillivray, William  Apr 1734Nairn, Scotland I616966054 Eby/Aebi and Bernethy Family  
Home Page |  What's New |  Most Wanted |  Surnames |  Photos |  Histories |  Documents |  Cemeteries |  Places |  Dates |  Reports |  Sources